I normally don't make New Year's Resolutions, except to resolve not to make any. Yeah, it's hard not to get caught up in the shiny, all-fresh, new and improved, clean slate that is ushered in with writing a different number on the end of today's date. Unfortunately, being my own worst critic, I hate failing. I'm too much of an optimist, and too big of a procrastinator (this post being only five days late) to put any faith in making myself a list and sticking to it. And seriously, I will never in a million years look like Jillian Michaels, cook like Julia Childs, or write like Shakespeare. I can live with that.

The one resolution I do remember keeping for an entire year involved baking cookies, go figure. One different cookie recipe for every week of the year. The co-workers were almost as excited as I was, since they were the major <s>guinea-pigs</s> benefactors, and sounding board for the experiment. That was several years ago, but I remember the feeling of accomplishment at the end of the year, and the addition of several new cookies to my recipe pile.

This year, I'm going to add a twist. I'm willing to try 52 new (to me) cookie recipes and will be posting the result each week, along with the reaction from taste-testers. I'll still be throwing together batches of the 'regulars', and trying to keep up with birthdays and such, so no worries to the faithful few.

I'm also asking for any ideas or suggestions. I don't expect to get Great Aunt Dorothy's family heirloom recipe, although I'm a firm believer in sharing to keep the heritage of hand-me-down recipes in circulation, and I'm willing to bake a batch in trade.

I'm also relabeling it a challenge, rather than a resolution. It sounds more goal oriented, and goes along with my reading challenge on Goodreads.

And to start the challenge, Ginger Doodles, a highly addictive and lighter version of a gingersnap. (click on name for recipe) The snicker doodle family is growing quickly with the additions last year of Pumpkin, Power, and Praline to the already popular Snick, fruit bar, and Chai versions.

May we both enjoy the upcoming New Year and all the pleasant surprises in store for us.

1/9/2012 11:58:26 am

Good luck with your challenge!! I'm looking forward to seeing (and possibly even occasionally tasting!) the results. Will give some thought to recipes I could add to your list of possibilities...

Reply
Souleswanderer
1/14/2012 10:50:29 am

Thank you for the support, and I would enjoy any recipes you'd love to share. I continually get sidetracked when searching for a new recipe, so much shiny to explore.
Keep me updated on your 'touring' schedule.

Reply
Glennie
1/26/2012 08:04:50 pm

Love your challenge! Wish I were in Seattle to be a volunteer taste tester.

Reply
souleswanderer
2/2/2012 09:04:35 am

You know you're welcome anytime you want to drop in.

Reply



Leave a Reply.