Last week at this time found me huddled under a comforter, candles ablaze, lighting one small corner of the room with barely enough light to read the printed page, while wondering how long the power in the Cave would be out. 

Four days later, including cold showers, treacherous roads, tree limbs dropping onto the roof, and having to literally break through ice encasing the Deathmobile, the world finally slowed its spin cycle and life returned to normal.

Today we experienced a balmy 50 degrees, sunny skies, and only minuscule traces of snow left in shaded areas of parking lots.  Quite the unexpected turn of events, and with the warmer temperatures, comes the rain. Bring it on.

To catch things up, week #3's cookie was a large success.  While baking Red Velvet Cupcakes for a co-worker, I got to wondering just how difficult it would be to make Red Velvet Cookies with Cream Cheese Frosting.  This recipe is going in the keeper file even if it is considered chocolate.

The cookie for week #4 won't even make it out of the kitchen.  It's almost as disastrous as the weather last week.   I decided to play it simple and go with a recipe that didn't require a lot of ingredients and sounded simple.  Let that be a lesson, if it sounds too good to be true...  They are called Easy Lemon Shortbread Cookies and are made without eggs.  

I've since renamed them Easy Lemon Shortbrick Cookies as that is what they came out to be.  Even when I flattened to cookie first before baking.  They are dense, very thick through the middle and a heavy chew.  A kick of lemon in every bite, but too tough for me to want to introduce to anyone.  This is one of the few recipes where I didn't even finish baking the batch.  Can you say REJECTS?   I'll post the recipe, maybe someone can point out the errors of my way, and I'll definitely be researching this lemon a bit further.


Picture
The big Ice Age freeze.
Glennie
1/26/2012 08:09:24 pm

Glad you survived the snowstorm and things are kinda back to normal. Too bad about the lemon cookies but that's part of the fun of your challenge. Some will be winners and others won't. In case I haven't told you before, I like your writing style. I feel like I'm right in the room with you.

Reply
souleswanderer
2/2/2012 09:06:54 am

I'm beginning to believe we will get a 'storm' every two years, just to keep us in practice. What amazes me is the short time span on them. Now if they could somehow keep the power on during them.

Thanks for the support.

Reply



Leave a Reply.